Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Wiener Symphoniker

 Wiener Symphoniker
Summary:Call for submissions for composition commission
Deadline: 23 November 2019
Date Posted: 04 November 2019
Details: On the occasion of Andrés Orozco-Estrada's inauguration as its new Chief Conductor in the 2020-21 season, the Wiener Symphoniker is holding an international competition for the composition of a fanfare.

The completed work will open the programme of Andrés Orozco-Estrada's inaugural concert in October 2020 in the Wiener Konzerthaus as a 'musical embrace'. Accordingly, the work should express the theme of inauguration and be performed from various positions in the concert hall, with the effect that the music 'embraces' the audience from all sides. The tonal effect and spatial proximity between performers and audience should produce an extraordinary shared musical experience.

The completed work should be ca. 4-5 minutes in duration and scored for an ensemble of at least 20 musicians, drawn from the following available players: 8 horns, 5 trumpets, 4 trombones, 1 tuba and 5 percussionists including timpani.

The commission will be awarded to the winner of a two-stage selection process.
1. Composers born after November 11th, 1984 and of any gender and nationality are eligible. Current active members of the Wiener Symphoniker and their relatives are excluded from participation.
2. Composers interested in applying must submit the following materials by November 23rd, 2019:
• completed application form including curriculum vitae, list of completed compositions to date and details of any past composition prizes.
• prime examples of their compositional work in the form of
o Audio (in WAV or MP3 format, e.g. created using a common notation programme such as Sibelius, Finale, Score or Dorico.)
o and corresponding score (in PDF format)
o brief description of each submitted sample work (in PDF format)

There is no restriction on the number of submitted work samples an applicant may submit, provided the total length of all samples combined does not exceed 8 (EIGHT) minutes. It is not required that the submitted work samples comply with the conditions regarding the form and content of the composition commission to be awarded.

All submissions will be collected and rendered anonymous by the Wiener Symphoniker and presented to a specialist jury that will determine a shortlist of approx. 10 composers. To maintain anonymity, the composer's name and/or the publisher's catalogue number or other references must not appear on the score or audio examples. With the exception of composition titles, any pre-printed information must be pasted-over or otherwise rendered illegible, if necessary also on the reverse side of printed material. Applications failing to meet this requirement cannot be considered!

Andrés Orozco-Estrada and selected representatives of the orchestra will select a winner from the shortlist by 16th January 2020.

The final submission of the completed composition commission is to be made by 1st August 2020 in printable PDF form.

The composer undertakes to assign all performance and recording rights for the inaugural concert and subsequent events to the Wiener Symphoniker and consents to the audio-visual recording of the concert and rehearsals.

The winner of the commission will be invited to attend the rehearsals and performance in Vienna at the orchestra's expense. In addition to the media attention that the inaugural concert of Andrés Orozco-Estrada with the Wiener Symphoniker will guarantee, the winner will be awarded prize money of Euro 1500, half of which is to be paid upon the commission being awarded and half to be paid upon submission of the completed composition. A recording of the performance of the work is planned.

The shortlist will be determined by a jury panel assembled for this purpose. The jury panel members are in addition to members of the orchestra Julia Purgina (Musik & Kunst Privatuniversität der Stadt Wien), xxxxx (Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien), Wolfang Schaufler (UE), xxxxx (Wiener Konzerthaus). The jury chairman is Jan Nast, Intendant of the Wiener Symphoniker. Applicants submit to the judgment of the jury. The jury's decision is final. There is no right of appeal.

All submissions must be made digitally via Dropbox, Google Drive or by e-mail to

For artistic inquiries please contact:
Ms. Ulrike Niehoff
Wiener Symphoniker
Head of Artistic Planning
Daffingerstr. 4/DG
A-1030 Vienna