Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive


Summary:Orchestral competition
Deadline: 26 August 2019
Date Posted: 12 June 2019
Details: “NIKOS SKALKOTTAS 2019”
Commemorating the 70th anniversary since the death of the prominent Greek composer Nikos Skalkottas, the Athens State Orchestra and the Greek Composers’ Union organize an International Competition for Orchestra.

International Competition Composition
For Orchestra

The members of the Jury will be announced through the Competition’s website after June 2019 and will be chosen for their international reputation in the world of music creation.

The Jury will select one work which will receive the “Nikos Skalkottas” Prize plus 3.500 euros . The awarded work will be performed on the 29th of November 2019 by the Athens State Orchestra at Megaron – the Athens Concert Hall during the first day the International Conference “Skalkottas Today”.

There will also be another Prize of 1.700 euros for the best work by a young Greek composer (born after 1984), which is kindly provided by the Athens State Orchestra. The performance of this work is scheduled for the first semester of 2020.

Nationalities - Age limit - Registration fees
The competition is open to composers of all nationalities with no age limit and without registration fees.

Submitted Works
The submitted works must not have been previously published, performed, broadcasted or submitted at a different competition.

The duration of the work
The contestants will submit one work for symphonic orchestra that must last between 12 and 15 minutes. The duration of the piece must be written on the score.

All strings must be included and at least 12 players of the other groups.
The use of electronics, voice or solo instruments is not permitted.

Legible and Anonymous
The musical score must be perfectly legible and anonymous, marked only with the title of the work and a 6 – digit code. If there is any proof of the candidate’s identity, the work will be automatically eliminated of the process.

The submission deadline is Monday, 26th August 2019,and in order to be considered as final, there must an electronic submission and a postal submission