Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive


Summary:Sampling competition
Deadline: 15 June 2018
Date Posted: 31 May 2018
Details: The Engine Room announces ‘SAMPLING HOLST’, part of Morley’s The Planets Festival, which celebrates 100 years since the premiere of the ground-breaking classical orchestral work ‘The Planets’ by Gustav Holst, Director of Music at Morley College London at the time.

‘SAMPLING HOLST’ is a sampling competition which encourages the creation of new electronic works from all genres and disciplines of electronic music– dubstep to grime, experimental electronic music to techno.

Ten to twelve finalists will be selected and will receive a combination of prizes such as Solid State Logic plug-ins (worth £1,000) to audio hardware and others kindly donated by our partners. In addition to this, the finalists’ tracks will be released as the first album compilation from TERM Records, Morley’s new label to be launched this autumn.

The competition finalists, selected by The Engine Room’s panel of judges which includes composer and producer Gabriel Prokofiev , American DJ, record producer and composer Jeff Mills, and BBC Radio 3 presenter Max Reinhardt, will be announced at a party event at Iklectik on 30 June 2018.

To participate in the competition, you must create a work of no longer than five minutes, making use of no fewer than seven samples from the list below.


- The competition is open to emerging artists and producers, including students.
- Entries are welcomed from all countries of residence, nationalities and age groups.
- Entries must be new works, created using the samples provided on this page.
Entries cannot have been previously performed or submitted to other competitions
- Collaborative works will be accepted, providing all contributors are emerging artists. Collaborative works will count towards the limit of one entries per artist.

Submission details
- Submissions are limited to one work per entrant.
- Submissions must be no longer than five minutes in duration.
- All entries must be submitted online via this website. Mailed or emailed materials will not be considered.
- Any links provided should be a direct link to a sound file, or embedded in a web page that is easily playable (e.g. Bandcamp, SoundCloud, Vimeo, YouTube, artist website). Please do not provide links to file downloads or transfers (e.g. Dropbox, WeTransfer).
- There is no entry fee for this competition.

Key Dates:

- Call for submissions open from March 19, 2018
- Submissions close on June 15, 2018
- Successful entrants will be notified by email by the end of June 2018, and a full list of selected artists will be published on this website.