Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

UNM John Donald Robb Musical Trust

 UNM John Donald Robb Musical Trust
Summary:Biennial Commission Competition: Two categories
Deadline: 10 March 2018
Date Posted: 22 February 2018
UNM John Donald Robb Musical Trust
8th Biennial International Commission Competition

• Award: A $3,000 commission will be awarded for the selected composer by the University of New Mexico John Donald Robb Musical Trust. The commissioned piece will be premiered during the UNM John Donald Robb Composers' Symposium, March 28-31, 2019.

• Eligibility: There is no age limit, and composers from around the world are welcome to apply. One entry per person is permitted. The winning composer must agree to be present and participate in the Composers' Symposium for the acceptance of the award and the performance of her/his/their composition. People affiliated with the UNM Robb Trust are not eligible to compete.

• Application: Composers are asked to submit up to two scores for solo or chamber ensemble. Submitting recordings is recommended but optional. For works involving electronics, a recording must be submitted. See "How to Apply" for instructions

• Selection & Announcement: A panel of judges will select a composer to receive the commission and will send a contractual letter of agreement to the winning composer. If this composer declines the commission another one will be selected. The winning commission will be announced on the Robb Musical Trust website in the spring of 2018. All accepted applicants will receive notification following the announcement of the winner.

• Stipulations:
1. The commissioned work will be a solo or chamber work, the exact instrumentation of which will be negotiated with the Co-Artistic directors. Works with electronics can use up to four loudspeakers plus 1 subwoofer. Electronic needs beyond audio playback must either be provided by the composer for performance or negotiated in advance with the Robb Symposium directors.
2. The composition must be between 6 and 10 minutes in length.
3. Source Material Requirements:
1. The commissioned work must make use of folk-song material or a derivative thereof from the John Donald Robb Archive of Southwestern Music in the Center for Southwest Research, UNM Zimmerman Library. Materials are also available at the UNM College of Fine Arts Library. A link to the folk-song source material can be found here.
2. This source material may include Robb transcriptions/arrangements of folk songs, such as those found in Hispanic Folk Songs of New Mexico or Cancionero: Songs of Laughter & Faith in New Mexico by John Donald Robb.
3. This source material may not include Robb original compositions.
4. It is the entrant's responsibility to be aware of any copyright issues that may exist.
4. To receive the commissioning award, the score and parts must be delivered by January 1 of 2019.
5. The commissioned work must bear the inscription "Commissioned by the John Donald Robb Musical Trust" at minimum on the first page of the score, below the title.
6. The work should not be performed prior to being premiered at the 2019 UNM John Donald Robb Composers' Symposium.

• Payment: Half of the commission prize ($1500) will be paid upon delivery of the finished score and parts. The remaining amount ($1500) will be awarded during the 2019 Composers' Symposium at the University of New Mexico. The composer must be in attendance to receive payment. An additional travel stipend of up to $800 will be reimbursed for travel expenses to Albuquerque, New Mexico (USA) for participation in the Composers' Symposium.

• Deadline: Application materials and completed scores must be received by March 10, 2018. Entries not meeting requirements may be rejected without recourse.

• Submission: The submission process is entirely electronic. Application materials must be submitted electronically to Only electronic submissions will be accepted. If scanning a large handwritten score, please limit resolution. If you encounter delivery difficulties, contact the Trust at for delivery options.

• Materials: Each of the following items should be submitted as separate individual attachments.

1. One or two scores in multi-page PDF format
2. An MS Word or PDF document including the following information:

1. Name, mailing address, email address, telephone
2. Titles of scores submitted
3. URL Links for recordings corresponding to the submitted scores in standard video or audio formats
4. A 100-200 word description of intent that conveys knowledge of the source material in the Robb Archive and explains how the commissioned work will incorporate this material.
5. A short biographical note about the composer
6. Please note where you heard about the Composers' Competition

Contact the Robb Musical Trust with any questions, or by phone at 505.277.8967.

For information about the John Donald Robb Archive of Southwestern Music, please contact the UNM Center for Southwest Research, or by phone at 505.277.6451. The center is located within UNM's Zimmerman Library, and you may also visit in person.

PAST WINNERS of the Robb Competition
2016: Marta Gentilucci: "Dance" for flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, piano and percussion
2014: Luke Dahn: "Buffalo Dance" for alto saxophone and piano.
2012: Paul Clift: "1950c" for restrung classical guitar.
2010: Colin Holter: "The Recording You Will Now Hear" for piccolo, contrabass clarinet, clarinet, piano, vibraphone, violin and cello.
2008: Dr. Gary Smart: "Song of the Holy Ground" for piano and string quartet.
2006: No prize awarded.
2004: Carl Donsbach: "Palomita: Canciσn for Piano Trio."

* 2016 was the first year the competition was awarded as a commission by the Robb Trust.