Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Cincinnati Camerata

 Cincinnati Camerata
Summary:SATB choir competition
Deadline: 15 December 2017
Date Posted: 09 November 2017
Details: Cincinnati Camerata has a long history of supporting new music! Beyond simply programming works by living composers in our concert events, one of the most exciting ways we support new music is by sponsoring an annual composition prize.

Read more about our recent winners here:

2016 winner: C.G. (Sonny) Walden III
2015 winners: 1st place – Cristopher Artley, 2nd place – Matthew Recio
2014 winner: Loretta Notareschi
2013 winner: Michael Gilbertson

Camerata Composition Prize is open for entries to composers anywhere in the world each year from mid-October to mid-December, with winners announced in mid-January of the following year. Our distinguished jury of composition and choral conducting faculty at the University of Cincinnati’s College-Conservatory of Music (CCM) evaluate the anonymously submitted scores.

The quality of submitted works has risen dramatically over the last decade, with many of our selected winners already enjoying distinguished composition careers. We encourage composers of all ages, backgrounds, and musical genres to submit! It’s a treat for us to read through the creative works sent each year, and we look forward to the possibility of recording or performing works by talented living composers.

Submission Guidelines
• One score per composer per entry.
• Anonymous submission. Your name may not appear anywhere in the submitted score!
• Entry fee of $25 must be paid online through PayPal (no checks). The fee covers administrative costs of running the prize program. The fee must be received by the submission deadline for your work to be considered.
• Mixed choir (SATB), maximum divisi SSAATTBB.
• Unaccompanied. Please provide a piano reduction. Recordings or MIDI are welcome but not required.
• Texts may be sacred or secular.
• Letter of permission from copyright owner absolutely must accompany any submissions using texts not in the public domain (yes, we check all texts!) No exceptions.
• Duration: no longer than 5 minutes.

• Entrants may be of any nationality and age.
• Pieces may have been previously performed, but not published.
• We consider a work ‘published’ once its score is available in print or electronic form for payment through any outlet.

$500 First Prize. A Second Prize ($250) may also be awarded when merited. However, the jury also reserves the right to not award any prizes when submissions are not deemed of sufficient quality or conformance to guidelines.

Depending on season programming and time commitments, the Camerata may also perform winning compositions live in the Cincinnati, Ohio area. Alternatively, the Camerata may choose to record a winning composition, in which case the winning composer would be provided with a digital copy of the final recording.

Please submit any questions you have about eligibility or details of your entry to Ellen Harrison, Jury Chair at Please contact if you have any technical issues with your submission or payment.