Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Illuminate Cardiff

 11 March 2018 at 2.00pm-4.00pm 

Illuminate Cardiff

Cardiff University Concert Hall
Corbett Road, Cardiff, CF10 3EB
United Kingdom
02920 878442

KÚsia DecotÚ (piano)
Cassie Mathews (classical guitar)
Sabina Virtosu (violin)
Gemma McGregor (shakuhachi and flute)

Join us in Cardiff to celebrate to the work women composers and performers!

Cardiff University Concert Hall
Cardiff University
Corbett Rd, Cardiff CF10 3EB

Concert starts at 2.00pm
Guest speaker Dr Rhian Davies to give a short introduction about Morfydd Owen and her music.

Admission - Standard- ú8 University of Cardiff Students - Free
Tickets can bought in advance or bought on the door.

The Illuminate concert series presents new works by five emerging female composers - Angela Elizabeth Slater, Gemma Mcgregor, Blair Boyd, Sarah Westwood and Carol J Jones written for performers KÚsia DecotÚ (piano), Cassie Matthews (guitar), Sabina Virtosu (violin) and composer-performer Gemma Mcgregor (flute/shakuhachi). The concert will also include a piece by Cardiff University School of Music's Reader in Composition, Arlene Sierra. These new works will be performed alongside historical works by women composers including Morfydd Owen, Lily Boulanger, and Amy Beach. We are privileged to have Dr Rhian Davies join us for this concert to give a short introduction about the welsh composer Morfydd Owen and her music.

Morfydd Owen : Four Welsh Impressions for solo piano
Clara Schumann : Scherzo No.2 in C minor Op.14
Angela Elizabeth Slater : Night Mirrors for solo piano
Gemma MacGregor : Always by the Shore for solo piano
Carol J Jones : A Note from the Blue for solo piano
Blair Boyd : New work for solo piano
Arlene Sierra : Hermit Thrush and Thermometer Cricket for solo piano
Louise-Marie Simon : Sonatine for flute and piano
Amy Beach : Romance for violin and piano
Gemma MacGregor : The Enquiry for violin and piano
Sarah Westwood : Another dance for guitar and violin
Blair Boyd : New work for violin and guitar
Carol J Jones : The Butterfly Effect for solo violin
Angela Elizabeth Slater : Into the Scarlet Sky for shakuhachi and classical guitar
Sarah Westwood : Shiko for solo flute

Review this Concert