Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Simon Rattle conducts Adès, Mozart and Stravinsky

 31 May 2017 at 8pm 

Simon Rattle conducts Adès, Mozart and Stravinsky

Philharmonie Hall, Berlin


Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle Conductor
Imogen Cooper Piano

“Simon Rattle and friends”: that’s how one could describe this concert. The composer Thomas Adès, whose Dances from “Powder Her Face” we hear here, and Imogen Cooper, the soloist in Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 25, have both been artistic associates for many years. One could say the same about Stravinsky’s Le Sacre du printemps, which Rattle has conducted in Berlin repeatedly, including in 2003 at the first dance project of the Philharmoniker’s Education Programme. In addition, Sir Simon Rattle conducts the German premiere of Chant funebre, an early work by Stravinsky which was long considered lost and rediscovered only recently.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Piano Concerto in C major K. 503
Thomas Ades : Powder Her Face Suite
Igor Stravinsky : Chant funèbre
Igor Stravinsky : Le Sacre du printemps

Review this Concert