Latest Comps & Opps

Site Search

New Members

Other Resources
News Archive

Perth Concert Series: BBC SSO

 10 March 2017 at 7.30pm 

Perth Concert Series: BBC SSO

Perth Concert Hall, Perth

(+612) 8394 6666

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Lawrence Power viola
Richard Farnes conductor

Elgarís magnificent Second Symphony begins in a great, glowing surge of confidence and pride, until the shadows darken, and we hear a great artist laying bare his soul with an intensity and truth unprecedented in British music. Itís unforgettable: an emotional autobiography on a par with Mahler, and a fitting counterpart to the terrible beauty of Butterworthís 'A Shropshire Lad', performed to mark the 100th anniversary of its composerís death on the Somme. Sir James MacMillanís new Viola Concerto, meanwhile, weds the dusky sound of the viola to orchestral writing of fiery brilliance and dark
passion. Richard Farnes conducts its dedicatee, Lawrence Power.
Tickets are available from 18 July 2016.

Arthur Butterworth : Rhapsody: A Shropshire Lad
James MacMillan : Viola Concerto
Edward Elgar : Symphony No 2 in E flat major

Review this Concert