Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Ligeti, Strauss, Anna Meredith and Beethoven

 24 September 2016 at 7.30pm 

Ligeti, Strauss, Anna Meredith and Beethoven

Wigmore Hall, London
36 Wigmore St, London W1
United Kingdom

Aurora Orchestra

Aurora Orchestraís imaginative programmes and support for new music combine here, aided by a Wigmore Hall commission from Anna Meredith, herself a fearless genre-hopping, boundary-pushing composer, and Ligetiís Ten pieces for wind quintet, a collection of intense avant-garde miniatures completed in 1968. Beethovenís Septet still sounds as fresh today as when it was first performed over two centuries ago.

Gyorgy Ligeti : 10 Pieces for wind quintet
Richard Strauss : Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche Op. 28 (arr. Brett Dean for nonet)
Anna Meredith : new work

Review this Concert