Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Andriessen, Reich & Maric

 09 July 2016 at 2pm 

Andriessen, Reich & Maric

Cheltenham Festival

United Kingdom

Dave Maric piano/electronics
Musicians from the Guildhall School of Music and Drama
Goldfield Ensemble

Alongside Reich’s impressive Nagoya Marimbas and Louis Andriessen’s work ‘for any loud sounding group of instruments’, composer Dave Maric acts as soloist in his new concerto for upright piano and electronics. Tapping into the essence of the upright he grew up with, Vigil sees the piano as both instrument and storyteller – from Maric’s father’s arrival in the UK as a political refugee from war-torn Yugoslavia, to Dave’s teenage experiments with electronics and beyond.

Louis Andriessen : Workers Union
Steve Reich : Nagoya Marimbas
Dave Maric : Vigil

Review this Concert