Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Orkney Camerata

 19 June 2016 at 10pm 

Orkney Camerata

St Magnus Festival
St Magnus Cathedral, Kirkwall
United Kingdom

Orkney Camerata

Eastern Europe is represented by the unique musical character of the Armenian composer (and priest) Komitas alongside the folk music-inspired works of the Hungarian composer Bartok and Georgian composer Tsintzadze.

The music of Pärt has become universally recognised but here the Estonian composer pays tribute to Britten in a dark and moving commemoration. Two new works specially created for the 40th anniversary of the Festival complete the programme alongside music very close to home by the Festival’s founder.

Orkney’s own chamber orchestra draws together local musicians and has been performing since 1994 working on occasion alongside other local groups such as the Mayfield Singers, the Winter Choir and St Magnus Festival Chorus.

Sulkhan Tsintsadze : Miniatures
Sheena Phillips : Night Airs
Komitas , : Music for Strings
Béla Bartók : Romanian Dances
Andra Patterson : The world was all before them
Arvo Pärt : Cantus After Benjamin Britten
Peter Maxwell Davies : 4 Sanday Tunes

Review this Concert