Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Per Nørgård’s Symphony No. 8

 11 June 2016 at 7pm 

Per Nørgård’s Symphony No. 8

Lincoln Center
140 West 65th Street NY, NY 10023
United States

Alan Gilbert


The grand finale of the 2016 NY PHIL BIENNIAL features the Philharmonic and Alan Gilbert in music by two late, great Philharmonic friends: Messagesquisse for cello solo and six cellos by former Music Director Pierre Boulez, and Second Concerto for Orchestra by Pulitzer Prize winner Steven Stucky. Plus the U.S. Premiere of Per Nørgård’s Symphony No. 8 (listen for traces of Sibelius).

Pierre Boulez : Messagesquisse
Steven Stucky : Second Concerto for Orchestra
Per Nørgård : Symphony No. 8

Review this Concert