Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Prokofiev, Qigang Chen & Rachmaninov

 29 July 2015 at 7.30pm 

Prokofiev, Qigang Chen & Rachmaninov

Royal Albert Hall, London
Kensington Gore, London SW7 2AP
United Kingdom
020 7589 8212

Meng Meng soprano
Anu Komsi soprano
Piia Komsi soprano
Jia Li pipa
Jing Chang zheng
Nan Wang erhu
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Xian Zhang conductor

Following last night’s Prokofiev piano concerto cycle, tonight’s Prom opens with the Russian’s bright and joyous ‘Classical’ Symphony, which surprised critics of the young firebrand composer with its formal elegance. It’s paired with Rachmaninov’s Second Symphony – beloved for its intimate, lyrical slow movement. Rachmaninov might be the original composer of the ‘big tune’, but it’s an instinct China’s Qigang Chen – a pupil of Messiaen – shares. East and West come together for his evocative Iris dévoilée, pairing traditional Chinese instruments with Western harmonies.

Sergei Prokofiev : Symphony No. 1 in D major, 'Classical'
Qigang Chen : Iris dévoilée
Sergei Rachmaninov : Symphony No. 2 in E minor

Review this Concert