Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

John Woolrich: Falling Down

 19 July 2015 at 7.30pm 

John Woolrich: Falling Down

Royal Albert Hall, London
Kensington Gore, London SW7 2AP
United Kingdom
020 7589 8212

Margaret Cookhorn contra-bassoon
Lucy Crowe soprano
Gerhild Romberger mezzo-soprano
Dmytro Popov tenor
Kostas Smoriginas bass-baritone
CBSO Chorus
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Andris Nelsons conductor

Beethoven’s ‘Choral’ Symphony is a celebration of human endeavour, as is his ballet score The Creatures of Prometheus. Andris Nelsons gives his final concert as Music Director of the CBSO before returning (see Proms 49 and 51) with the Boston Symphony Orchestra, of which became Music Director last season. John Woolrich’s dark, sardonic contra-bassoon concerto was written for the CBSO’s own contra-bassoonist Margaret Cookhorn.

John Woolrich : Falling Down
Ludwig Van Beethoven : Symphony No. 9 in D minor, 'Choral'

Review this Concert