Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive


 17 August 2014 at 7.30pm 


Grafenegg Auditorium
3485 Grafenegg 10 Österreich
+43 (0)1 586 83 83

European Union Youth Orchestra, orchestra
Simon Trpceski, piano
Vasily Petrenko, conductor

For the first time in 2014, the European Union Youth Orchestra (EUYO) is also performing as part of the Grafenegg Festival, whilst away from the stage it will be honing its orchestral skills still further at the Academy. Both the prelude and the main concert feature music by Jörg Widmann, before the EUYO flies across the Atlantic to bring George Gershwin, Leonard Bernstein and John Adams back to Grafenegg. Conducting the EUYO is Vasily Petrenko, Principal Conductor of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra. The evening’s soloist is Simon Trpceski, a rising star of the international piano scene. After the concert, the EUYO winds down the evening with a Late Night Session.

Joerg Widmann : «Con brio» Concert Overture for Orchestra after motifs by Ludwig van Beethoven
George Gershwin : Rhapsody in Blue
John Adams : The Chairman Dances Foxtrot for Orchestra
Leonard Bernstein : Symphonic Dances from the Musical «West Side Story»

Review this Concert