Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

CBSO Thomas Adès: New Horizons

 11 June 2014 at 7.30pm 

CBSO Thomas Adès: New Horizons

Symphony Hall, Birmingham
Broad Street, Birmingham, West Midlands, B1 2EA
United Kingdom
0121 200 2000

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Thomas Adès conductor
Nicolas Hodges piano

As both internationally-renowned composer and visionary conductor, Thomas Adès is one of the most compelling figures in the contemporary arts, bringing a unique insight to everything he performs.

Today, Ravel’s fairy-tale ballet and Adès’ own orchestral tour de force Tevot (composed for the Berlin Philharmonic) book-end two fantastic premieres from renowned contemporary pianist Nicolas Hodges: the exuberant piano concertino No seré yo quien diga nada by the young Spanish composer Francisco Coll, and a new Piano Concerto by musical maverick Gerald Barry.

6.15pm Free pre-concert talk. The Irish composer introduces his brand new Piano Concerto – interviewed by Stephen Maddock.

Maurice Ravel : Mother Goose (complete)
Gerald Barry : Piano Concerto
Francisco Coll : No seré yo quien diga nada
Thomas Ades : Tevot

Review this Concert