Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Carter, Adams, Birtwistle

 26 March 2014 at 7.30pm 

Carter, Adams, Birtwistle

Wigmore Hall, London
36 Wigmore St, London W1
United Kingdom

Nash Ensemble
Wigmore Hall Chamber Ensemble in Residence
BBC Singers

Nicholas Kok

The Nash Ensemble’s annual new music showcase is both a final instalment of its American Series – with John Adams’s seminal Shaker Loops and three characteristic pieces by the late, great Elliott Carter – and an eightieth birthday tribute to Sir Harrison Birtwistle, complete with a performance of his entrancing recent work for voices evoking the mysterious world of moths.

Harrison Birtwistle : Fantasia upon all the notes for flute, clarinet, string quartet and harp
John Adams : Shaker Loops for string septet
Elliott Carter : Mosaic for flute, oboe, clarinet, harp, string trio and double bass
Harrison Birtwistle : The Moth Requiem for 12 female singers, three harps and alto flute

Review this Concert