Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Sebastian Rivas. Aliados (Alliés)

 31 January 2014 at 8.30pm 

Sebastian Rivas. Aliados (Alliés)

Théâtre de St-Quentin-en-Yvelines
Place Georges Pompidou - CS 80317 78054 Saint Quentin en Yvelines Cedex
01 30 96 99 30

Music Sebastian Rivas, commissioned by the French governement | Libretto Esteban Buch | Director Antoine Gindt | Live Production Philippe Béziat | Conductor Léo Warynski
Artistic Collaboration and Assistant Director Élodie Brémaud | Stage Design Élise Capdenat | Lighting Daniel Lévy | Costumes Fanny Brouste | IRCAM Computer Music Design Robin Meier
Nora Petrocenko Lady Margaret Thatcher
Lionel Peintre Général Augusto Pinochet
Mélanie Boisvert The nurse
Thill Mantero The aide-de-camp
Richard Dubelski The conscript
Ensemble Multilatérale
Antoine Maisonhaute violin
Kobe Van Cauwenberghe electric guitar
Benoît Savin bass clarinet
Mathieu Adam trombone
Lise Baudouin piano
Hélène Colombotti percussion

"We're also very much aware that it’s you who brought democracy to Chile" said Lady Thatcher when she invited the senator Augusto Pinochet to tea in London in 1999, sparing not the slightest compliment for the man who would soon have to stand trial for his crimes. Following the example of Nixon in China by John Adams, the opera Aliados inspired by political history, in this case by the Falklands War in 1982 and the improbable alliance of the Iron Lady, champion of liberalism, with the Chilian general during the Cold War.

The failing memories of the two aged leaders retired from roles of power, revealing archives, and collective history are at the heart of this project by Sebastian Rivas and Esteban Buch, two Argentineans looking back at a decisive event for their generation and their identity. On the theater stage, designed by Antoine Gindt to look like the set of a television program, reality strikes through visual manipulation and stylized singing. An opera in real-time in every sense of the word; historical time and computer time.

Sebastian Rivas : Aliados

Review this Concert