Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Sakari Oramo conducts Beethoven, Schumann and Matthews

 08 January 2014 at 7.30pm 

Sakari Oramo conducts Beethoven, Schumann and Matthews

Barbican Hall, London
Barbican, Silk Street, London EC2
United Kingdom
020 7638 8891

Sakari Oramo conductor
Horn players of the BBC SO - Martin Owen, Michael Murray, Andrew Antcliff and Nicholas Hougham

For his second programme in the season, Sakari Oramo offers an exhilarating menu of Beethoven, Schumann and Colin Matthews. Beethoven’s ‘Eroica’ Symphony was, and remains, a revolutionary statement of genius. The blazing ‘hunting’ horns in the symphony’s trio, perfectly echoe Schumann’s glorious Konzertstück for four horns, showcasing soloists from the BBC SO, and the heroic, romantic and soulful qualities of the instrument. Traces Remain, a new commission from Colin Matthews, takes its name and inspiration from a book of essays by Charles Nicholl: ‘the sudden presence, the glimpse behind the curtain, the episode measured in minutes and preserved across the centuries’.

Robert Schumann : Konzertstück
Colin Matthews : Traces Remain
Ludwig Van Beethoven : Symphony No.3 in E flat major, ‘Eroica’

Review this Concert