Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Jack Quartet

 23 January 2014 at 7.30pm 

Jack Quartet

Wigmore Hall, London
36 Wigmore St, London W1
United Kingdom

JACK Quartet

The JACK Quartet’s concerts prove time and again that we belong to a golden age of chamber music composition, one in which creative diversity and difference are encouraged and celebrated.
This programme, devised by Wigmore Hall’s Composer in Residence Julian Anderson, opens with a seminal work composed in 1931 by Ohio-born Ruth Crawford Seeger, the first woman to receive a Guggenheim Fellowship, and closes with Horaţiu Rădulescu’s evocatively titled Fifth String Quartet of 1995.
Brian Ferneyhough’s wild Exordium, written in honour of Elliott Carter’s 100th birthday in 2008, stands in bold contrast to Julian Anderson’s ‘Light Music’ and the world première of a new score by Christopher Trapani, winner of the 2007 Gaudeamus Prize.

Ruth Crawford Seeger : String Quartet
Christopher Trapani : New work
Brian Ferneyhough : Exordium
Julian Anderson : String Quartet No. 1 ‘Light Music’
Horaţiu Rădulescu : String Quartet No. 5 ‘before the universe was born’

Review this Concert