Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Arditti Quartet

 16 October 2013 at 7.30pm 

Arditti Quartet

Wigmore Hall, London
36 Wigmore St, London W1
United Kingdom

Arditti Quartet

To celebrate his 60th birthday, Irvine Arditti has assembled a captivating collection of works to demonstrate the Arditti Quartet’s brilliance, artistic vitality and uncanny understanding of contemporary chamber music.
The world première of Akira Nishimura’s fifth string quartet, written as a birthday present to Irvine Arditti, crowns a programme that also offers two UK premières and two modern masterpieces for solo violin. The concert opens with Brian Ferneyhough’s hypnotic Intermedio alla ciaccona, first performed by Irvine Arditti in 1986.

Brian Ferneyhough : Intermedio alla ciaccona (for solo violin)
Robert HP Platz : strings (Echo VII)
Hilda Paredes : Cuerdas del destino
Francisco Guerrero : Zayin I + II (for string trio)
John Cage : Eight Whiskus (for solo violin)
Akira Nishimura : Quartet No. 5

Review this Concert