Login   Sign Up 

Latest Comps & Opps

Site Search.

Other Resources
News Archive

Collegium Novum Zürich | Wilfried Hiller | Elsbeth Moser | Hubert Nettinger | Elisabet Woska

 18 August 2012 at 11 am 

Collegium Novum Zürich | Wilfried Hiller | Elsbeth Moser | Hubert Nettinger | Elisabet Woska

Lucerne Festival

Collegium Novum Zürich: Bettina Boller violin | Martina Schucan violoncello | Simon Lamothe-Falardeau tuba | Christoph Keller piano | Wilfried Hiller conductor (Hiller) | Hubert Nettinger tenor (Hiller) | Elsbeth Moser bayan | Elisabet Woska narrator (Hiller) | Stefan Blum percussion | Thomas Hastreiter percussion | Werner Hofmeister percussion | Edith Salmen percussion | Sebastian Hollunder piano and organ (Hiller)

“My way of working is essentially different from that of other composers,” Galina Ustvolskaya once observed. “I write when I find myself in a state of grace.” Music as worship, as testimony to a higher inspiration? This concert launches the Credo series with a gathering of four composers whose works also contain a spiritual message: first is Sofia Gubaidulina, who musically traces the symbol of the cross in her duo “In croce” and who depicts the soul’s ascent into heavenly heights in “De profundis,” which was inspired by Psalm 130 (“Out of the depths, o Lord, I cry to You”). Her Bavarian colleague Wilfried Hiller similarly drew on a biblical text for his monodrama from 1979, “Ijob”: the story of a man who loses everything because God wishes to test his faith.

Wilfried Hiller : Ijob
Galina Ustvolskaya : Piano Sonata No. 6
Galina Ustvolskaya : Composition No. 1 “Dona nobis pacem”
Sofia Gubaidulina : “In croce” for Violoncello and Bayan
Sofia Gubaidulina : “De profundis” for Solo Bayan
Sofia Gubaidulina : “Silenzio” for Bayan, Violin, and Violoncello

Review this Concert

Posted by Christian Morris

< < Back < <