Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Edinburgh International Festival

 21 August 2012 at 8 pm 

Edinburgh International Festival

Usher Hall

Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst Conductor

Best known for the unforgettable ‘Vltava’ (also known as ‘The Moldau’), which vividly depicts the country’s mighty river, the six symphonic poems of Má Vlast, ‘My Homeland’, conjure the spirit of Smetana’s beloved Bohemia, conveying its history, traditions and nature in music of wonder and imagination.

Franz Welser-Möst and his mighty Cleveland Orchestra bring their power and precision to the piece in a welcome return to the Festival. Folk music, this time from Poland, also lies behind Lutoslawski’s colourful Concerto for Orchestra, a virtuoso showpiece that shines a spotlight on the individual talents of Cleveland’s exceptional players.

‘This world-class orchestra... outshines all competitors these days’ The Wall Street Journal

Witold Lutoslawski : Concerto for Orchestra
Bedøich Smetana : Má Vlast (parts 1 – 4)

Review this Concert