Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Farhad Badalbeyli performs Prokofiev

 07 February 2013 at 7.30pm 

Farhad Badalbeyli performs Prokofiev

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace, London, SW1X 9DQ
United Kingdom

Conductor - Dmitry Yablonsky
Piano - Farhad Badalbeyli
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Written in just three days, Shostakovich’s Festive Overture is a dazzling tour de force, demanding breathtaking agility from the whole orchestra. Also written in haste, the Karelia Suite by Sibelius is one of his most popular works, its shimmering textures and bold melodies celebrating the composer’s native Finland. Prokofiev’s dynamic and colourful First Piano Concerto was written when he was a student; Prokofiev premiered the Concerto himself, considering it to be his first mature work. This programme culminates in the grandeur of Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition orchestrated by Ravel, each movement vividly conjuring up a different scene.

Box Office: 020 7730 4500

Dmitri Shostakovich : Festive Overture
Jean Sibelius : Karelia Suite
Sergei Prokofiev : Piano Concerto No.1
Modest Mussorgsky : Pictures at an Exhibition

Review this Concert