Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Janina Fialkowska performs Chopin

 25 January 2013 at 7.30pm 

Janina Fialkowska performs Chopin

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace, London, SW1X 9DQ
United Kingdom

Conductor - Fabien Gabel
Piano - Janina Fialkowska
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Brahms composed his Tragic Overture while on holiday in 1880, writing that 'I could not refuse my melancholy nature the satisfaction of composing an overture for a tragedy'. Whether or not Brahms had a particular tragedy in mind remains a mystery, but the Overture encompasses imposing, turbulent ideas, poignant lyricism and memorable rhythms. Chopinís Piano Concerto No.2 boasts one of his best-loved movements, the irresistibly romantic Larghetto, framed by an animated, intricate opening movement and a lively finale in the style of Polish folk-music. Beethovenís expansive ĎPastoralí Symphony is a magnificent mixture of charm and innovation, brimming with evocative melodies which create a vivid impression of the countryside in all its majesty.

Box Office: 020 7730 4500

Johannes Brahms : Tragic Overture
Frederyk Chopin : Piano Concerto No.2
Ludwig Beethoven : Symphony No.6, 'Pastoral'

Review this Concert