Login   Sign Up 

Latest Comps & Opps

Site Search.

New Members

Other Resources
News Archive

Natasha Paremski performs Shostakovich

 29 November 2012 at 7.30pm 

Natasha Paremski performs Shostakovich

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace, London, SW1X 9DQ
United Kingdom

Conductor - Rory Macdonald
Piano - Natasha Paremski
Trumpet - Mike Allen
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

This delectable programme of spine-tingling works opens with the Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis by Vaughan Williams. The majesty of the English Renaissance meets the pre-war innocence of early twentieth-century England, as a theme by Thomas Tallis resonates through Vaughan Williams’ rich string textures. In the fascinating Piano Concerto No.1 for Piano, Trumpet and Strings by Shostakovich, the piano dominates, but both soloists shine with quickfire exchanges and rhythmic verve. The Walk to the Paradise Garden, from the opera A Village Romeo and Juliet by Delius, is a gloriously seductive work, its sumptuous orchestration dripping with nostalgia. As if this wasn’t enough, the epic Fifth Symphony by Sibelius is one of his masterpieces, building to a climactic finale with its unforgettable horn theme.

Box Office: 020 7730 4500

Ralph Vaughan Williams : Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis
Dmitri Shostakovich : Piano Concerto No.1 for Piano, Trumpet and Strings
Frederick Delius : The Walk to the Paradise Garden
Jean Sibelius : Symphony No.5

Review this Concert

Posted by mintern

< < Back < <