Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Dmitry Yablonsky conducts Amirov and Stravinsky

 25 September 2012 at 7.30pm 

Dmitry Yablonsky conducts Amirov and Stravinsky

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace, London, SW1X 9DQ
United Kingdom

Conductor - Dmitry Yablonsky
Piano - Farhad Badalbeyli

AMIROV Azerbaijan Capriccio

AMIROV Piano Concerto after Arabian Themes

STRAVINSKY Petrushka (1947)

A colourful programme featuring two rare gems from Azerbaijani composer Fikret Amirov. Overlooking the Caspian Sea, Azerbaijan is a cultural melting pot bubbling with influences from Eastern Europe, Western Asia and the Middle East. Fusing Azerbaijani folkmusic with powerful orchestration, Amirov transports us to his homeland in the mysterious Azerbaijan Capriccio and exotic Piano Concerto, which was influenced by Arabic music. The piano is also featured in Stravinsky’s ballet Petrushka, a mesmerising depiction of an unfortunate Russian puppet. Written early in the twentieth century and revised in 1947, this is a masterpiece full of intricate rhythms and inventive orchestration.

Free for all concert ticket holders: The Mountains of Gabala; a 30-minute film documenting the city of Gabala and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s residency at the Gabala International Music Festival, featuring conductor Dmitry Yablonsky and pianist Farhad Badalbeyli, Artistic Directors of Gabala Festival. Main auditorium 6.15pm.

Box Office: 020 7730 4500

Fikret Amirov : Azerbaijan Capriccio
Fikret Amirov : Piano Concerto after Arabian Themes
Igor Stravinsky : Petrushka (1947)

Review this Concert