Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

The Nash Ensemble

 05 July 2012 at 11:00 

The Nash Ensemble

Cheltenham Festival

United Kingdom

Ian Brown piano
Richard Watkins horn
Marianne Thorsen violin
Philip Dukes viola
Paul Watkins cello

Two venerable British composers, both 80 this year, hear brand new pieces of theirs on this first Thursday of the Festival. Hugh Wood features in the BBC Singers’ concert later on; but here, the hugely distinguished members of the Nash Ensemble premiere a new work by Alexander Goehr for the combination that Brahms first wrote for in 1865 – horn, violin and piano.

Wolfgang Mozart : Piano Quartet in G minor
Alexander Goehr : Horn Trio (premiere)
Frank Bridge : Phantasy Piano Quartet
Johannes Brahms : Horn Trio in Eb Op.40

Review this Concert