Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Spotlight on Elena Firsova

 25 April 2012 at 7:30pm 

Spotlight on Elena Firsova

The Forge
3-7 Delancey Street, London, NW1 7NL
United Kingdom

Marsyas Trio
Helen Vidovich - flute
Val Welbanks - cello
Fei Ren - piano

Ligeti Quartet
Mandhira de Saram - violin
Patrick Dawkins - violin
Richard Jones - viola
Val Welbanks - cello

The Marsyas Trio will be presenting a programme of chamber works by Russian-born composer Elena Firsova. The featured work is a world premiere of the new composition commissioned by the Marsyas Trio, A Triple Portrait, which has generously been funded by the PRS for Music Foundation. The Marsyas Trio is joined by the Ligeti Quartet in a varied programme of solo, duo and larger chamber ensemble works. Also featured is the UK premiere of Tender is the Sorrow and a short concert talk by Elena. This concert is in celebration of Elena Firsova’s twenty-year contribution to new music in the UK.

Elena Firsova : A Triple Portrait (Marsyas Trio)
Elena Firsova : The Night Demons, Op. 62 (1993) (Cello & Piano)
Elena Firsova : Tender is the Sorrow, Op. 130 (2011) (Flute, String Trio & Piano) (UK premiere)
Elena Firsova : Meditation in the Japanese Garden, Op. 54 (1992) (Marsyas Trio)
Elena Firsova : Spring Sonata, Op. 27 (1982) (Flute & Piano)
Elena Firsova : String Quartet No. 8 ‘The Stone Guest’ (1995) (Ligeti Quartet)
Elena Firsova : Hymn to Spring, Op. 64 (1993) (Solo Piano)

Review this Concert