Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

American Mavericks: MTT, Emanuel Ax, and John Adams

 15 March 2012 at 8.00 pm 

American Mavericks: MTT, Emanuel Ax, and John Adams

Davies Symphony Hall
San Francisco
United States

Michael Tilson Thomas

Emanuel Ax

Paul Jacobs

Mason Bates

St. Lawrence String Quartet

San Francisco Symphony Chorus

San Francisco Symphony

Two world premieres by Bay Area residents round out the American Mavericks concerts. Mason Bates, who is also the Project San Francisco composer, brings his individual style of electronica and choral writing to Mass Transmission. And John Adams introduces Absolute Jest, featuring the St. Lawrence String Quartet and based on fragments of Beethoven scherzos. Rounding out the evening is pianist Emanuel Ax with the SFS in Feldman’s work of free-floating rhythms and slowly evolving sounds, Piano and Orchestra. The Orchestra reprises its highly praised performance of Varèse’s Amériques.

Mason Bates : Mass Transmission
John Adams : Absolute Jest
Morton Feldman : Piano and Orchestra
Edgar Varèse : Amériques

Review this Concert