Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive


 19 March 2012 at 8.00 pm 


IRCAM/Centre Pompidou-Grande salle-Paris


Shigeko Hata soprano
Michaël Chanu, bass
Ensemble Orchestral Contemporain
Conductor Daniel Kawka
Computer Music Design Christophe Lebreton (Grame), Gilbert Nouno (IRCAM)

"Above, a strident stone shatters." At the beginning of Droben Schmettert ein greller Stein, a drama by Michael Jarrell, the harmonic pizzicato of the solo bass that fathers the rich harmonic universe of a gripping work, rooted in the low register.

Kenji Sakai, a student of Jarrell's in Geneva, developed his own art of orchestration during his time at IRCAM, and today uses the resources made available in this field by computer music applications: targets, screens, and new possibilities of timbre combinations.

In this concert created by Grame, the Ensemble Orchestral Contemporain, and IRCAM, the work by Ondøej Adámek refuses neither the slightest timbre effect nor acoustic illusion. Since his work, Nôise, we have been aware of the Czech composer's proximity with Japan and of his interest in the voice: ranting, speaking, or singing. He is inspired here by Japanese mechanical dolls, by perfection, and by the concentration of a living mechanism.

Kenji Sakai : Fog and Bubbles
Ondøej Adámek : Karakuri-Poupée Mécanique
Michael Jarrell : Droben Schmettert ein greller Stein

Review this Concert