Login   Sign Up 

Site Search.

New Members

Other Resources
News Archive

BCMG Chamber Players

 02 March 2012 at 7.30pm 

BCMG Chamber Players

CBSO Centre
Berkley Street. B1 2LF
United Kingdom

Flute: Marie-Christine Zupancic
Clarinet: Timothy Lines
Piano: Malcolm Wilson
Violin: Alexandra Wood
Cello: Ulrich Heinen

Despite its chamber scale – this programme contains an embarrassment of riches, a lucky dip of superbly crafted chamber pieces from the last 30 years, full of contrast, some tiny, some substantial, performed by a crack quintet of BCMG soloists.

Some of these works are memorials or tributes; many of them use forms or techniques from music of the past – fugues, chaconnes, canons, inventions; some come from a fascination with past composers. Knussen’s Upon One Note distorts the rhythms and pitches of Purcell’s five part fantasia; Barry’s two minute Aeneas and Dido revisits Purcell’s opera as the composer “felt that Aeneas needed to be given his due”; Machaut can be found lurking behind Birtwistle’s Double Hocket; whilst Philip Cashian’s blistering Caprichos explores the dark, nightmarish world depicted in Francisco Goya’s Los Caprichos etchings.

The performance of Aldo Clementi’s Berceuse is a tribute in itself – to the last of the great Italian 20th century modernists, who died almost a year ago to the day – 3 March 2011.

The Adčs studies condense and refashion music from his acclaimed opera The Tempest into a single movement for four instruments. The result is a kaleidoscopic succession of musical portraits –each depicting a shipwrecked character on Prospero’s island – Antonio, Ferdinand, Alonso and Gonzalo.

Oliver Knussen : Upon one note
Gerald Barry : Aeneas and Dido
Colin Matthews : Elegiac Chaconne
Aldo Clementi : Berceuse
Tansy Davies : Undertow
Philip Cashian : Caprichos
Harrison Birtwistle : Double Hocket
Peter Maxwell Davies : Unbroken Circle
John Woolrich : In the Mirrors of Asleep
John Woolrich : In the Mirrors of Asleep
Franco Donatoni : Het
Thomas Ades : Court Studies from the Tempest

Review this Concert

Posted by BCMG

< < Back < <