Login   Sign Up 

Latest Comps & Opps

Site Search.

New Members

Other Resources
News Archive

Composer Portraits: Music of Conlon Nancarrow

 16 February 2007 at 7:00pm 

Composer Portraits: Music of Conlon Nancarrow

Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum
280 The Fenway, Boston, MA 02115
United States

Alarm Will Sound (www.alarmwillsound.com); Alan Pierson, conductor

The music of Conlon Nacarrow is incredibly intricate, blending the sounds of American jazz and tango with complex rhythms and inventive harmonies. For years, Nancarrow lamented the poor quality of live performances of his difficult works, until he found one performer that was always perfect: the player piano. In this concert, however, Alarm Will Sound injects the human element back into this music, playing new arrangements of the player piano studies...for orchestra.

Conlon Nancarrow : Study for Player Piano No. 6 (arr. Yvar Mikhashoff)
Conlon Nancarrow : Study for Player Piano No. 2 (arr. Gavin Chuck)
Conlon Nancarrow : Studies for Player Piano No. 3a (arr. Derek Bermel)
Conlon Nancarrow : Piece No. 1 for Small Orchestra (1943)
Conlon Nancarrow : String Quartet No. 1 (1945)
Conlon Nancarrow : Sonatina for piano (1941)
Conlon Nancarrow : Three movements for Chamber Orchestra (1993)
Conlon Nancarrow : Septet (1940)
Johannes Ciconia : Le Ray Au Soleyl (arr. Gavin Chuck)

Review this Concert

Posted by clandrum

< < Back < <