Sonata No. 2 (2011) - Brian Vlasak

Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Sonata No. 2 (2011) - Brian Vlasak


This is a full-length recital work for soprano saxophone and piano that was debuted at the 2012 NASA by Patrick Murphy (sax) and Liz Ames (piano). The first movement is akin to a locomotive insofar as it continually builds steam, except it is the saxophone that takes the helm and pushes the piano forward at the end and the piano which abdicates it's drive. The second movement is slow, introspective, and requires both musical concentration and breath control. The third is extraordinary short, fast, and quiet, serving as a transition into a meditative finale, still and yet with an unrelenting pulse, pushing both the musicians and the listener forward to the conclusion. ~17'30" in length. Score and parts available free of charge.

No recordings of this piece currently available.

No recordings of this piece currently available.
1 performance.

Forthcoming Performances
No forthcoming concerts currently listed.

Past Performances