Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Edwin Fissinger Choral Composition Prizes

 Edwin Fissinger Choral Composition Prizes
Summary:Choral Competition
Deadline: 01 June 2017
Date Posted: 22 February 2017
Details: NDSU Music honors the legacy and traditions of noted choral composer and long-time NDSU choral conductor Edwin Fissinger with its annual choral composition competition.

The Edwin Fissinger Choral Composition Prizes will be awarded to the first and second place winners.

2017 Deadlines
-Score submission: must be received by June 1, 2017
-Announcement of winners: September 1, 2017
-Premiere of winning composition: October 2017
-Application fee: $25 per composition
Pay online at NDSU Marketplace
Or mail check (payable to North Daktoa State University) to:
Dr. Jo Ann Miller, NDSU Challey School of Music, Dept 2334, PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Must be postmarked by June 1, 2017

Entries should be:
-for mixed choir (SATB), divisi is acceptable
-unaccompanied, or with keyboard accompaniment, obbligato instruments ok
-three to eight minutes in duration
-original, not previously performed publicly, and unpublished (by an -established commercial firm) works only. The text may be sacred or secular, either in the public domain or copyrighted, as long as a letter of permission from the copyright owner is included with the submission
suitable for an accomplished high school or university choir

-Open to all composers, except for current NDSU faculty, staff, and students.
Prior winners may re-enter only after five years.
-First: $1,000
-Second: $500
-NDSU reserves the right to not award prizes in any given year.
-The composer of the first prize work must be present at the premiere performance in October 2017.
-NDSU will reimburse actual travel, lodging and food expenses up to a maximum of $750.
-Winners will be announced at by September 1, 2017.
-The first prize winner's piece, with the approval of the composer, will have their composition considered for publication in Pavane Publishing for placement in the Jo Ann Miller Choral Series. The second prize piece will be considered for publication.

Judging Panel
Jo Ann Miller, Director of Choral Activities, NDSU
Michael Weber, Associate Director of Choral Activities, NDSU
Charlette Moe, Assistant Director of Choral Activities and Music Education, NDSU
Dale Warland
Allan Petker, Pavane Publishing

Submission Guidelines
-Include name, address, phone number(s), and email address when making payment via NDSU Marketplace or if paying by check, in a sealed envelope accompanying the score.
-Send by PDF file to
-Submitted scores must be in Finale or Sibelius.
-A midi file is strongly recommended
-All scores selected for performance will be reproduced by NDSU
-Submissions must be submitted via email by 11:59 PM on June 1, 2017 or postmarked by June 1, 2017.
-If not submitting a PDF, mail submissions to:
Dr. Jo Ann Miller, NDSU Challey School of Music, Dept 2334, PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
-Email compositions to:
Jo Ann Miller, Director of Choral Activities,