masavage (21/7)
  bbhrupp (21/7)
  Milo1865 (17/7)
  supertrex (17/7)
  Rood (16/7)

» Full C:T Members List

Other Resources
News Archive

General discussion - composing for specific musician  angryjane at 20:57 on 26 September 2006

Hello,
I am new to this forum and would like to open up a discussion about composing for a specific musician or specific ensemble.

I have composed pieces for a few other musicians (I am also a musician). The most hurtful and negative experience was composing a piece for a particular soloist and advocate of new music. Up until the actual performance of the piece (that is, when we initially discussed the piece and when I gave her the completed score) she was extremely enthusiastic. She had mentioned possibly using the completed piece in a concert overseas after the premiere in the US.

After the concert however, she departed without saying anything to me and basically never said anything about the piece thereafter and has never to my knowledge performed the piece again.
The piece was well received at the concert so it wasn't as if the audience was throwing tomatoes at the stage or anything outlandish and it wasn't "personal" as she has been sincerely friendly when I've run into her since that fateful day.

Ever since then, I've been wary of writing a piece for someone specific again unless that person is a close friend. It was just too horrible an expeience.

So what exactly happened? Was the piece terrible? I didn't think so at the time and I still don't. Did the musician suddenly have a change of heart? Was it because she was with a colleague who probably hated the piece? I'll probably never know.

Yes this is a sad and personal story but at this point, I would like to try to compose music again for musicians who I don't know personally but of course I would like to write for artists who will love the pieces I write for them and want to perform such works specifically composed for them several times and so on.