filfil (30/10)
  falcorps (29/10)
  TVL (28/10)
  manu71 (27/10)

» Full C:T Members List

Other Resources
News Archive

Writing for Harp  dunkinwedd at 18:33 on 22 September 2006

I think writing for harp is very challenging. One thing that gives me gyp is remembering the pedal settings.

So I made a little gadget to help me - a visual representation of the pedal settings. It was so great, I made it into a pdf to share with other composers.

If you'd like one, just help yourself from here:

www.geocities.com/Vienna/Strasse/6977/thevirtualharp.pdf

It's a bit Airfix, but it works!

Re: Writing for Harp  Team Gaughan at 10:47 on 23 September 2006

I found writing for harp a challenge to but was always keen on the instrument due to my early liking of Benjamin Britten. I was lucky that while I was a student I got to know a harpest fairly well. She asked for a piece and I in return asked for a few lessons. While I only gained approx grade 3 it has certainly helped getting to know the instrument!

Most harp players who tackle new works often ignore new composers pedal marks and do their own anyway! (At least in my own experience). In my basic playing I got bored with glissandi, as did my teacher, so I now invent new way of gaining similar results. Check out pieces by Hindemith & Ginestera as well as Birtwistle and of course Britten (esp the Harp Suite, Ceremony of Carols & the Operas).

Harp players only use 4 fingers per hand, no little fingers, tremolos between 2 strings tuned to the same pitch are fun, (ie: one string a-sharp, the next b-flat), harmonics in one hand & glissandi in the other work well & 'tambora' effects.
If you must have glisses try 3 or 4 togeher at once!

Martin

Re: Writing for Harp  piargno at 19:12 on 23 September 2006