masavage (21/7)
  bbhrupp (21/7)
  Milo1865 (17/7)
  supertrex (17/7)

» Full C:T Members List

Other Resources
News Archive

Degree Unsatisfaction  piargno at 18:52 on 29 May 2006

I just recently received a Bachelor's degree. I know this should feel like a big accomplishment, but I just don't feel that way. I feel like because I'm not at a point where I'm supporting myself mostly as a musician, my bachelor's is practically inconsequential. I haven't won any big competitions (and I haven't entered many), I haven't gotten big recognition, and while I did so much at my alma mater, I still feel like I've done nothing as a composer, and this Bachelor's degree is just rubbing it in my face. (Ha! You've earned this, and you still work at an insurance company...)

Any advice? Anybody going through the same thing?

Re: Degree Unsatisfaction  John Robertson at 08:01 on 30 May 2006

LOL! Very hard to give advice on that one. Many composers take the 'endless student' approach (a Masters or two, a PhD) , and at least get the benefit of the odd student performance or workshop. There's quite a bit to be said for that.

On the other hand if your strong of mind you might just strike out on your own - forget competitions and the in-crowd, just run your own group and make a name for yourself.

From my own experience I really needed the student days - I finished my undergrad knowing hardly anything! But it also took until I finally left academia altogether (and yes got a job doing something completely different) that I finally found my true compositional voice - it's a real conundrum...

Re: Degree Unsatisfaction  red5 at 16:55 on 31 May 2006

What's an alma mater?

I wouldn't worry about not making it big yet, a forty year old composer is still classed as a young composer...!

Re: Degree Unsatisfaction  piargno at 12:46 on 01 June 2006