Login   Sign Up 

Site Search.

New Members

Other Resources
News Archive

Does `atonal` music still exist?  red5 at 21:52 on 25 April 2006

I'm new to composing and have been interested to listen to peoples pieces on the random listen feature of this site. I'm surprised by how many of them use tonality. It's really quite refreshing to know that other people out there are still writing using good old fashioned harmony. Does anyone actually still think that 'atonality' (whatever or whoever that may imply) still has some cultural significance?

Re: Does `atonal` music still exist?  piargno at 16:34 on 26 April 2006

Oh most definitely! One can almost argue that some minimalism pieces, which may "sound tonal", aren't actually atonal, but rather the playing out of certain ideas or certain philosphies. But there also exist many pieces of jazz that have no tonal center, and of course people are still trying to squeeze the rag out of 12-tone music. Personally, tonality plays a big role in my music, but I am far from being a "tonal" composer. I, along with so many people, have gripes about the definition of tonality, and I want to write a book suggesting a new definition. Even a work like the last mvt. of Bartok's 4th string quartet can't really be called "atonal." Or Debussy repeated note etude - it starts and ends in g-minor, but you wouldn't really know it unless you saw the score! Oh... music definitions... good times!

Good question though. One can argue that atonal music doesn't have as big of a role now as it did at the turn of the century going into the 70s, but with the Spectral music developments, I think it still has a voice.

Re: Does `atonal` music still exist?  red5 at 20:24 on 26 April 2006