Login   Sign Up 

Site Search.

New Members

Other Resources
News Archive

Funding for composers  mattratcliffe81 at 12:43 on 10 September 2008

I am a young composer (26), have a BA in composition from Dartington College of Arts, Devon. I have a question - does anyone know of any funding available to composers who are starting out on their careers? Are there any individual patrons who specifically fund emerging composers? How does one reconcile one's vision of living solely by composition with the fact that one needs money NOW?!!

I would be grateful for any tips.

Matthew Ratcliffe.

Re: Funding for composers  MartinY at 15:52 on 15 September 2008

Dear Matthew,
I am afraid you will have to do what you will probably have not been equipped to do by a college course and become a ‘portfolio musician’. This is the now accepted name for someone who does several out of composition, teaching, performing, arranging, publishing, conducting, editing and hack work if necessary. You will also need to be a bit of an administrator, your own literary executor and be able to fill in an income tax form. Many of the great composers of the past, for example Palestrina and Lassus did all these things, perhaps with the exception of filing their income tax!
Teaching, performing and editing are all good things for a composer to be doing to keep in touch with the real world of music. Of course once in a while a young composer gets a commission to produce a piece which is a rave success and they go on to get a publishing contract and other people do the support work. Do not bank on this happening and such successful composers are not immune from getting into a slow decline of a sequence of first and last performances of works leading to a drying up of commissions.
That is my advice. Do lots of musical things and make them interact with your composition in the most positive way possible.

Good Luck ...... Martin Grayson.

Re: Funding for composers  scott_good at 17:24 on 15 September 2008