falcorps (29/10)
  TVL (28/10)
  manu71 (27/10)
  laiavalles (26/10)

» Full C:T Members List

Other Resources
News Archive

This 17 message thread spans 2 pages: [1]  2  > >  
  Is there a universal notation system for tabla and if so how does it work?  Nico_Bentley at 21:07 on 26 June 2008

I am a composer based in London and I want to begin to score music for tabla, when you insert tabla into your score in Sibelius it just gives you a treble clef stave and I don't really understand how you would be able to score this amazingly complex instrument on one stave. Is there a universal notation system that fits into a western score? If not does anyone have any suggestions as to about creating one?

Re: Is there a universal notation system for tabla and if so how does it work?  carlswanholm at 18:44 on 27 June 2008

Hello Rico,
What a beautiful and readily recognizable instrument the tabla is and if one can skillfully blend it great! (like Shankar's Concerti*)
(1) Work with a tabla player, record it, and try to jam it into Western notation?or see if or how they traditionally notate?
(2) Use ones imagination and apply an adapted notation on manuscript, perhaps with improvisational options, if with 'freer' sections, for desired results? I haven't studied non-Western music formally and would probably have to modify the few works I wrote for 'exotic' instruments, if and when performed, not to mention electric guitar effects -- an acoustic guitar can sound sitar-like?
(3) And, for practical reasons, the electric bass can kinda simulate the 'oomph' sound of the tabla?
(4) There are articles and videos galore on the internet and books as well.

Good luck and let us know!
Carl

Re: Is there a universal notation system for tabla and if so how does it work?  Nico_Bentley at 12:20 on 28 June 2008

Thankyou for that,

I am working with a tabla player at the moment and I am trying to develop one and researching their notational systems.

Nico