Roland Auzet (22/11)
  Flaute (20/11)
  M.Akram (20/11)
  margaretmoss12 (18/11)
  aldymf91 (17/11)

» Full C:T Members List

Other Resources
News Archive

Opportunities for composers in London  mattratcliffe81 at 10:23 on 19 May 2008

I am a composer/cellist/pianist living in the Midlands, looking to possibly move down to London in the next year or so. I wanted to ask any members living in London what opportunities there are for composers - do you manage to earn a living solely from composition, if so what types of jobs/commissions do you find yourself doing? Do you have to do a certain amount of other work e.g. instrumental teaching in order to make ends meet? Or do you even need to have a completely non-musical day job? Just to give a bit of background I am 26 years old and have a BA in composition from Dartington College of Arts, Totnes, Devon.

I would be very grateful for any advice!

Matthew Ratcliffe.

Re: Opportunities for composers in London  Pete12b at 23:34 on 22 May 2008

Matthew

There are literally hundreds of opportunities for composers in london - however the question is -are you willing to write bread and butter music in order to focus on the serious stuff. My personal advice would be to start knocking on doors - as many as possible! The opportunities that exist are mainly in the media - TV, Film, Advertising. The pay is good although film work does take an awful long time for the agreements to appear.

A few doors to try:
Film Colleges, music colleges, radio stations (there are 100's of these), library music companies. contact london based music supervisors.

Hothouse Media, Blaze Music (Film), 750mph, Carlin

composer agencies - you may have to stretch to brighton for the really big ones. Websites to try are shooting people, mandy.com for starters. Don't limit yourself to London - as long as you're near the internet and/or a post box you can write where you want. I only go up to London for the meeting side of things - its nicer by the sea!