noiseman (19/9)
  musicswan (17/9)
  fjbeppe (14/9)
  JamesG (13/9)
  sonatina_3 (12/9)

» Full C:T Members List

Other Resources
News Archive

Making sounds LOUD, yet SOFT, using music sampler software  ulrichburke at 06:22 on 22 February 2008

Dear Sir.

I've got Reason and Kontakt, but this question's so basic I'm pretty sure it's non-software specific. I get the same problems whichever software I use.

I'm a wannabe New Age composer - piano'n'strings, flute'n'strings, general orchestration, soft pads backing everything up. So I bought Reason 3 because everyone told me it was the best software package for making music. And I've been stuck on this one point ever since, if you can tell me how to get past this, you'll be an absolute godsend!

I have an M-Audio Audiophile 2496 soundcard, 1 gig RAM, AMD Sempron system, about 200gig hard drive spare. I know it's not the world's fastest system but I'm happy to stick to 2 or 3 instruments for the moment. Now here's the prob. I'm having.

I want to make a piano, for example, sound soft. I have this identical problem with all sounds. So I whack the volume on 120-ish, set the external volume on my monitor speakers to the level I'd be listening to a CD at (turning the knob on the speakers themselves, not using software!!) and import the piano MIDI file I've created using Voyetra Music Write, my notation package. I'm disabled, have to use notation, can't play a keyboard. Anyway.