JamesG (13/9)
  sonatina_3 (12/9)

» Full C:T Members List

Other Resources
News Archive

This 35 message thread spans 3 pages:  < <   1   2  [3] 
  Re: American Composers  johnhedger.com at 20:27 on 22 September 2007

"And all the best composers play the viola..."

That may be true. My composition teacher Joseph Baber plays viola. He's an excellent composer of operas,symphonies, and chamber music. Baber's teachers were Howard Hanson and Mario Castelnuovo Tedesco. Tedesco tutored many prominent American film composers in Hollywood. Old world Italian/Spanish, Castelnuovo Tedesco is one of my favorites always.

John Hedger

Re: American Composers  erasmusinfinity at 02:30 on 23 September 2007

I'm sure that you have noticed by now that different people have replied to your query with quite different answers. As an American composer, I am more than a bit tempted to list my name in hopes that it will boost my PR.

Putting good 'ol fashion American marketing aside, a listing of prominent American composers is doomed to be more subjective than a listing of prominent European composers. This is because culture is defined in substantially different terms in America than it is in Europe. The same can be said of musical tradition.

In Europe music is, more so, a direct extension of established national traditions. In America, opinions about what constitutes a shared national tradition are more hotly contested. Because America is a country that is made up almost entirely of immigrants, various imported traditions have established themselves and have remained somewhat separate. No single one of these traditions fully defines American music. Thus, for an American composer, the context for prominence is a bit more segmented.